Show biz

Having an adult child who does well in life does not compensate for one who does not. That according to an article I recently read over the Internet. I agree with the author’s statement. Evan, my younger son, after some “what-should-I-do-with-my-life” years, started law school. He is now in his second year and likes it. I am somewhat surprised because he’s basically lazy (he will admit to that) but went ahead, anyway, and from what he tells me enjoys the challenge.

Of course, I am happy for him and relieved. There was a time I wondered if he would wind up like his brother since there is a genetic component involved in schizophrenia. I no longer worry since males generally get it from the ages 15 to 25. (He is 28.) For females it often begins later, even into their 30’s.

But seeing my youngest succeed doesn’t diminish the pain I feel, just like the article says. That damned glass always seems to be three-quarters empty, and I’m still looking for the magic elixir to fill it even to the half-way mark and make life merely tolerable.

Poor me. Whine, whine, whine. Guess it’s time to grab Garland and Rooney and put on a show–“There’s no [illness] like [mental illness] like no [illness] I know.”

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Show biz

  1. Tim Lundmark says:

    I have been tagged with every mental illness possible. If your boys suffer from schizophrena a feel for them. One of my diagnosises was schizo-affective disorder. Depending on where I am in my cycles I am either a glass is over flowing and life is intense, or the glass is empty and I want to die. My doctors have found a good med cocktail which is my magic elixer. This works well, but as you can see from my last couple posts my glass is draining into emptiness. Be strong in the end that is all we can be when it comes to our MI. Its goal is to destroy our lives. We need to fight it every day

    • ptsdsuicide says:

      Tim,

      What are you taking??? I’m curious as I have a feeling I might have something like you have or Bipolar. I can’t really figure out the difference between Bipolar and some of the shifts in the negative symptoms of Schizophrenia. I understand people can have only the negative symptoms and to various degrees.

      I can’t figure it out and I have a visit with a psychiatrist soon. So I’m thinking of how to describe it. Sometimes I’m very personable, other times I feel like I’m in a glass tube and I can’t touch or relate to others.

      Thanks for your help!

      • Tim Lundmark says:

        PTSD,

        I am taking:
        200 mg Lamictal
        20mg Adderall
        3,000 mg Nuerontin
        300 mg extended release Seriquil
        100 mg short acting Seriquil
        40 mg Zyprexa
        15mg Remron

        To be honest I am not sure what my diagnosis is currently. Like I said I have been diagnosed with just about everything. I think I have really bad bi-polar, severe anxiety, adhd, and ocd. That is just my personal opinion. I have written a few books on my struggle to survive with my mental illness. One was actually my suicide note to my family

Leave a Reply

