Clubhouses

            I want to update everyone about our clubhouse, Granite Pathways, in Manchester, New Hampshire. As I noted earlier, we are following an international model, which will allow our organization to become certified. We opened in Sept. 2010 after going before the local variance board two times. A small neighborhood group is still in opposition to having folks with mental illness meet in this location (a church) and therefore in opposition to our existence. They haven’t given up and are now suing the city of Manchester by taking it to Superior Court in the spring. In the meantime, we are open so all things considered we have been successful.

            To understand what we are trying to accomplish, please visit www.iccd.org. That is the website for the International Center for Clubhouse Development. It will take work and effort for us to get where we want (helping people with MI regain what they lost, find jobs, and further their education), but we are on our way, thanks to a devoted group of angels, members, and staff.

            On Thanksgiving Day we met not just to eat turkey but to celebrate how far we’ve come. With a single vision a seed was planted, took root, and grew. Over the coming year we hope to reach out to more people with mental illness to form a community of healing and support as well as individual growth. So three cheers and thank you to all who made this possible.

            On a personal note, I had a second Thanksgiving feast later in the day at my house. My healthy son, ill son, and a few other relatives attended. All went better than expected—no drama, fights, or unpleasant illogical crises to deal with. Hope your day went well too.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clubhouses

  1. Tim Lundmark says:

    I would love to start something like that in my city! I have pretty severe mi, but I have managed to become high functioning (although not all the time.) I have learned many different coping tools which I would love to share with others. I am already in the process of creating “The Bucket List Foundation” this is a non-profit aimed at improving the final years of our elderly. We assign an volunteer to visit a resident in a nursing home at least once or twice a week. This volunteer will find out the residents “bucket list wish” The foundation will provide the funds for that resident to live one of their life long dreams. this is key but the main function is to ensure no one dies alone.

    Sorry to get into my foundation. I would love to start something like what you are doing here. Keep in touch

  2. Nancy says:

    Tim, I sent you an email, but the website I was referring to is the one in my post: iccd.org. You can also check out our site at Granite Pathways: granitepathways.org. Nancy

Leave a Reply

