The Evil Side Of Religion

Religion has been used to incite wars, bomb the World Trade Center, burn the innocent at the stake, stone people, and “send” those who do not follow a particular belief to hell. Oh, my God!

Actually God is not religion. Religion as defined by Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary is “a personal set or institutionalized system of religious attitudes, beliefs, and practices.”

For me religion is a particular pathway towards God, and I do not subscribe to one that says my way is better than yours, even though I know there are many people who feel theirs is the right way, the true way, the only way.

My reason for this post was a recent blog by someone who would have us believe that people who commit suicide go to hell if they are not Christians. It is not the act of suicide itself (states the author) that sends you to that place of eternal damnation, but not being a
follower of his particular cookbook. My mother used to say, “If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.” There are some on this website who may be reeling from the recent loss of a loved one. To add pain to one who is already suffering is callous. Additionally, if we follow the author’s line of thought, and I know some of you will, than all the children/people of other faiths who’ve passed on will burn forever. How nice! How comforting!

My response on Mr. Know-It-All’s blog was deleted therefore I am posting my own thoughts on the subject. There are different paths to God, the Devine, the Almighty, the King of Kings, Jehovah … and I, for one, respect them all. I would never be so
presumptuous to tell anyone what to believe nor that he/she is going to hell. It’s rude and it’s also none of my business. I’ll leave that elusive decision to one greater than I.

 

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Evil Side Of Religion

  1. Justine-Paula Robilliard says:

    Hi there,
    It has been a few days and well I thought I would update you.. I am not getting any better, in fact I am wondering if I will survive the weekend… I really do not feel much up to living….

    I do not think that there is a higher power, if there was, maybe I have the wrong number, or they are busy, I can never get through, either it is “subscriber cannot be found” or “please leave your name and number after the tone…”

    I am in so much pain now.. I am not a coward, I am not running away, I just cannot deal with the pain.. Why is it ok to live with pain?????
    I hope you are ok… huggs from me.. JPR

Leave a Reply

