Family Ties And The Heartbreak Of Psoriasis

I am grateful for our clubhouse, Granite Pathways, even though some trolls are trying to close it down. (More on that at the end of this post.) With Thanksgiving approaching, I felt pressured about what to do regarding my family but decided to take the easy way out, the
chicken way. (Cluck! Cluck! Cluck!) Since GP’s celebration falls on the day of the holiday, I have a good excuse to go there and there alone.

This was not an easy decision, but coping with my son’s MI has gotten harder for me over the years, not easier. If I’m with family, I will succumb to the “what’s if’s,” you know the thoughts that plague anyone who has had heartbreak in his/her life. (Oh, yeah, I guess that’s everyone.)

I would see all those grandkids (not mine) and think “if only” and sink lower than a cellar and have to take a pill. With GP, I can relax, do what I want, and maybe even have fun. I’ll try to think of it as my holiday gift to yours truly and forget the cluck of the “Chicken Dance” along with “shoulding” on myself.

As for the not-in-our-neighborhood trolls I mentioned earlier–they are suing our city for allowing GP to operate and taking their complaint to superior court. After the variance board voted three times in our favor, the trolls haven’t given up. The date of the hearing
is Dec. 2nd. Wish us luck.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

