Toxic Religion & Toxic Blogs = Trolls

I’ll never claim to have that one absolute, final answer. Everyone is on his or her own journey and I would never consign a fellow traveler to hell because he believes differently from me. Usually I know better and stay away from people who will send you off to eternal damnation because you dare to disagree.

Still, I plead guilty to being a troll. I read that term on someone’s blog: a person who scrolls through posts with the purpose of sending nasty replies. Actually, I take it back (my being a troll) since that wasn’t my purpose. I just happened to come across a post I took issue with. Usually when that happens I ignore it, which I think is the best way to deal with such situations–and face it, we’re not going to love and agree with everyone and vice versa. While my reply was innocuous, it earned me a place with the boogeyman, so said the blogger. Oh, well, I should have known better. As a child, I was told not to talk religion and politics in public, but this time I succumbed and for that I apologize to said blogger.

On one other occasion, I also did the unthinkable. I was on the site of a psychologist who wrote parents of adult children with schizophrenia should feel guilty for causing their child’s illness. I responded with X#$^&!!! since he was so full of crapola and not worthy of a PhD. Therapists with those beliefs are eligible to join the clubs of Dumb Doras, Dumb Bunnies or Tweedledees and Tweedledums. They shouldn’t be practicing because they cause more harm than good. But enough of my rant and to everyone in bloggingland have a nice day and beware of trolls.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toxic Religion & Toxic Blogs = Trolls

  1. What?! Schizophrenia caused by the parents? Now that deserved a lot more than some strong language… Grrr…

  2. I just read a “scientific research” article proving that early stress in infancy, combined with certain genetic factors, is a cause for schizophrenia, which in effect, was blaming the parents. If bad parenting caused this particular mental illness, it would not be so rare. I completely agree they need to stop assigning blame and just allow the families to heal and support each other. Mothers already blame themselves, they surely don’t need “professionals” to add to that.

  3. waywardweed says:

    I’ve read a few research papers lately re stress, infancy, and schizophrenia. As for “proving,” I think they were merely suggestive of causation, not actual facts, and by early stressors, everything from viruses to toxoplasmosis (a parasite) to moving at an early age to bad parenting was mentioned. While abuse can certainly result in major damage, I believe the root cause is biological (heredity or spontaneous mutations–my opinion.)

Leave a Reply

