It’s The Little Things

It’s the little moments that tip the scale, left-over pearls from happy days or open wounds from horrific, last-straw endings that make for a good life or, conversely, leave a poor soul begging for a speedy demise. This post is about one of those nice moments—well, sort of because life is bittersweet.

I was sitting on my couch with my husband when my sick cat jumped in my lap. She’s the type of cat who will take up residence on your lap but only on her terms. For some reason she stuck close to me all day. We had brought her back from the vet the day before. She had the sniffles, fever, etc. and wasn’t acting like the perky feline she is. Because she is long-haired, she is prone to hair matting and had developed a mass of what could only be described as dreadlocks. The recourse was a “lion cut.” Seriously, that’s what she now looks like—a small lion–or perhaps a poodle since she kept her pom-pom tail. To my surprise (since I thought cats’ main sense was smell), her buddy, Sidney, a tiger-stripe, no longer recognized her and considered her an adversary to be feared or punished. While I expect that problem to clear up soon enough, I had one of those “Aha” moments, when she was sitting on my lap, a taste of happiness.

Both my sons had just called so I knew they were okay; ditto for my husband; therefore I had no immediate plans to jump off a roof. In other words, I felt contented (a revelation for me since I’m usually quite depressed), but in the back of my mind, I told myself to remember this feeling, swallow it and digest it. Since I still don’t know what’s wrong with Tovah (whether her illness is serious or not), I may be battling tears in a short while, and I may need the ammunition of a chocolate speck in time to use when the next brick falls on my head. Yes, life is bittersweet in this “sometimes you win sometimes you lose” world, but, no doubt about it, it feels better to win.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s The Little Things

Leave a Reply

