Cursed By Bad Karma

“If I didn’t have bad luck, I’d have no luck at all.” In an illness-of-the-week movie, a woman ponders a decades-old mishap. Did her poor decision cause her present cancer? While I don’t believe in such nonsense, I, like the character in the movie, feel threatened by my past. Am I now damned by my mistakes and passing the consequences to my children? Logic says no, but there’s a disconnection between logic and feelings, and I suspect it’s a common affliction in humans.

Religion is a primary example of this disconnection and while it’s a topic I usually avoid, I’ll bring it up with the caveat that I won’t disparage anyone’s beliefs. You either have faith or you don’t, and faith is not based on logic.

Because I like the following quote, I’ll add it to the mix: “I would rather live in a world where my life is surrounded by mystery than a world so small that my mind could comprehend it.” Unfortunately, I don’t remember the author, but the meaning sums up my perspective on this business of living.

Getting back to karma, I have no desire to relive the past, right my wrongs. Living on this planet is too harrowing, even though I sense a noble, godlike equilibrium in everything. But to balance off my bad karma someone is having a great life (at my expense). Yeah, I don’t really believe that, but then again, maybe I do.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cursed By Bad Karma

  1. I hear ya. Oh, how I hear ya.

    I can’t really complain, though. I have had really BAD things happening to me but on the other hand I’ve been the recipient of much love, affection, friendship and compassion. No matter how bad I have it, I have always had a friendly, compassionate, caring helping hand. And I think that has more value than the bad things

  2. Oh, and according to Google, that quote is by one Harry Emerson Fosdick, author of The Meaning of Prayer

Leave a Reply

