Doing The Right Thing

My local newspaper featured a story about a young man with serious mental-health issues (bipolar disorder, ADHD, and possibly autism). Recently he’s been arrested two times and since he just turned eighteen, programs, which had been available, disappeared overnight. His mother, in despair, sought out help and the funny thing is help arrived.

I’m sure you’ve read about fundraisers for children and adults with cancer or heart disease, etc. Last June I posted about that with the question, How come no one reaches out to families struggling with mental illness? Where are the casseroles and offers of car rides for doctor visits? Where’s the empathy?

In NH we are fortunate to have mental-health courts, especially with the closing of hospitals and subsequent turning of jails into last-stop hotels, where no one can be refused admission. When an illness is at the root of a “crime,” instead of locking up the individual, alternative measures are taken. While there are still some falling through the cracks, in this case, due to the mother’s pleas and the police recognizing there is more to the situation than meets the eye, he will get another chance. And here’s the part in the article that caught my attention—individuals are offering to help. I never expected to see this—especially with all the stories about MI and violence in the media (James Holmes in Colorado and Jared Loughner in Arizona). So, hooray to the folks who can look past the “Psycho” headlines and do the right thing.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doing The Right Thing

  1. Nicole says:

    I was just thinking this! My husband and I are considering sending me to some specialized centers but money us a concern. But no one would probably fundraise fir that. Yet aren’t pr pole with mental illness in a fight for their lives too?? Thanks for sharing!

    • waywardweed says:

      Hi Nicole, Hospitals have to accept people (even without insurance) in life and death situations. Local mental-health centers (in the US) adjust their fees depending on income. Many people who go to the latter are on Medicaid/Medicare. I wish you the best.

  2. Mandi says:

    I can’t believe people are actually offering to help. I’m REALLY glad that they are, it’s just that as you said, it never happens. I’ve seen both sides and to be honest it really hurts and makes me angry. My husband had very serious cancer, for at least 3 years we had a TON of support. Money was there when we needed it, people were there to help. Even now, if a title mentions anything about my husband, or cancer, my stats will double that day. I’m back in the mental hospital… no response. One is “real”, one isn’t. I don’t understand, people who I thought were my friends aren’t my friends anymore just because I have BPD. Unlike some of the “real” illnesses, you can’t catch BPD or come down with a bad case of bi-polar. At least I’m not alone in my frustration. Very glad some stepped up to help in this case!

  3. waywardweed says:

    Hi Mandi, Yeah, I really was surprised. It gives me hope that maybe we are progressing, if only a little, especially since in my city a few families are suiing to get a clubhouse for people with MI out of their neighborhood. Not everyone feels that way, of course, and the more we talk about it, the more we realize we are not alone.

Leave a Reply

