Lance Armstrong: Psychopath?

This question’s been posed on the Internet since people with this personality disorder have egos the size of the sun. Being charming is also in the mix. Lance was capable of lying to the public for years, and then tried to ruin the lives of people who refuted his sainthood, calling them bitter, whores, and worse. And, of course, he made tons of money.

On the positive side psychopaths are able to keep their stress levels low. Besides the charm, they are coolheaded, and also rarely psychotic. On the whole it seems being a psychopath has many advantages. And I should also note that most people with psychopathy do not commit violent crimes.

It’s also common to have psychopathic traits and not the full disorder. In fact, I suppose a case can be made that the disorder itself is not a disorder at all but” normal.” If you think about it, many who have made it to the top of their professions, from business to politics, are capable of ruthless or hardnosed behavior when crossed. (Think Donald Trump or Richard Nixon.)

And the rest of humanity, too, who go about their business, feeding themselves and their families, need to put themselves first to survive so, in essence, we all have a touch of this condition; it’s probably a matter of degree whether it crosses the line to pathology and having more symptoms than few may even earn a medal of commendation for the holder. Too little and you can wind up in a homeless shelter. And as for Lance, whether he’s a psychopath or not, of course, I don’t know. I’m just curious what’s behind the locked door of his mind.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lance Armstrong: Psychopath?

  1. Hey, I like your point of view. I wrote a post about Lance Armstrong being a Narcissist. I never thought about the possibility of him being a psychopath, but like you said about wondering what’s behind the lock door of his mind, it would definitely take many sessions for me to come close to truly figuring him out.

  2. I’m pretty sure people with certain psychopathic traits are more successful in life in general. Sometimes a little ruthlessness is exactly what is needed to get forward in life. And it’s as much of a spectrum as autism, if I have to believe my therapist… All has advantages and disadvantages.

    • waywardweed says:

      Yeah, I suppose a little bit of ruthlessness would be neccessary in such things as competitive sports and business. Too much and it’s a liability and I’m not sure what it says about the person. I guess I prefer empathy.

      • It’s fighting with the weapons you have in life… People who have strong empathy will have different talents and strengths than people who lack it, and will thus also have different needs. I don’t think it’s really a case of preferring. I have been given the diagnosis of psychopathy, later that was changed to malignant narcissism (which is also part of the spectrum apparently) because I also have psychoses and different characteristics, and I do lack empathy a lot. I wouldn’t say though that I would like to have more of it, it’s an advantage in some cases.

  3. Trendsetter says:

    Psychopathic works as it’s the best explanation. Please don’t forget he deserted his wife, new twins, ( this wife was beside him all during the cancer), and fooled around with female celebs enjoyignthe cult of celebrity. There was no emotion behind anything. I don’t think he is alone by any means, but he is particularly cold blooded. It was disturbing to see how much the loss on his $75,000,000. day registered on his face. Nothing much else did.

Leave a Reply

