I Still Believe Most Of Us Are Good, but …

I was horrified to read that two of the six policemen that beat a man with schizophrenia so badly that he died have been found not guilty. Perhaps some of you have heard of the case (Southern Calif.) since it’s been in the national news for months. Yesterday I played the video posted on CNN’s website and regretted it immediately. In it the now deceased man is crying, “Daddy, they are killing me.” It was so sad. They may as well have been beating a defenseless stray cat or dog. I thought the police were there to protect the vulnerable–obviously that didn’t happen here. I hope the US Dept. of Justice looks into this and I am sure mental-health advocates in S. Calif. won’t let the matter drop either.

About waywardweed

I am a consumer and parent of two sons, one with a mental illness and the other a third-year law student.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Still Believe Most Of Us Are Good, but …

  1. Ryan Dueck says:

    This is infuriorating

Leave a Reply

